#### **COALEX STATE COMPARISON REPORT - 238**

#### December 1992

Shari Zook Division of Reclamation Department of Natural Resources 1855 Fountain Square Court, Bldg. H Columbus, Ohio 43224-1387

**TOPIC:** PERMIT AND ACREAGE FEES (Updates Reports Nos. 147 & 17)

**INQUIRY:** Please survey the IMCC member states for the following information on coal mining permits: current fee requirements for permit applications, per acre charges, and permit renewal and revision fees. Describe the charges, where appropriate, e.g., indicate if the acreage fee is per "bonded acre".

**SEARCH RESULTS:** A survey of eleven IMCC member states was conducted via mailed questionnaire. The results of the survey appear below and are summarized in tabular form (see attached table). Copies of a 1990 survey of IMCC states plus two surveys of western states are

#### RESULTS OF THE SURVEY

#### **ALABAMA**

Permit Application Fee	Acreage Fee	Annual Fee	Renewal Fee	Revision Fee	Do Fees Cover Actual Processing Time	Statute or Regulation Cite
\$2500 per application + acreage fee	\$25 per acre bonded with each application	N/A	Revision fee: Ranges from \$100 - \$1500: \$100 - Transfer fee, \$250 - Revision to add small acreage, \$750 -	Yes, Coal fees are revised when necessary[Non- coal fees must be revised by statute change]	The permit review fee was intended to cover review of the application and all revisions submitted	Code of Alabama, 1975, Section 9- 16-83(a) authorized rules and regulations effective 1982. Regulation

Revision to	by the	Section
change	applicant	880-X-8B-
increment	during the	.07
lines or	permit	
reclamation	review	
plans,	process;	
\$1500 -	the fee is	
Major	inadequate	
revisions	to	
requiring	compensate	
public	for the	
notice	actual man-	
	hours	
	involved in	
	the review	
	process	

### **ARKANSAS**

Permit Application Fee	Acreage Fee	Annual Fee	Renewal Fee	Revision Fee	Do Fees Cover Actual Processing Time	Statute or Regulation Cite
\$500: \$250 review fee + a \$ 250 administrativ e and enforcement fee for greater than 250 ton exploration	\$500 or \$30 per acre annual fee for all areas which will be affected during the following 12-month period, whicheve r is greater	This annual administrative and enforcement fee is submitted on the anniversary date of the permit and each subsequent year	There are no references to fees under the renewal regulation s	There are no references to fees under the revision regulation s	The permit review fee was intended to cover review of the application and all revisions submitted by the applicant during the permit review process; the fee is inadequate to	Arkansas Surface Coal Mining and Reclamatio n Code (Code) Section 771.25

		compensat	
		e for the	
		actual	
		man-hours	
		involved in	
		the review	
		process	

## **ILLINOIS**

Permit Application Fee	Acreage Fee	Annual Fee	Renewal Fee	Revision Fee	Do Fees Cover Actual Processing Time	Statute or Regulation Cite
See below	\$125 per bonded acre for surface mined land	\$5 per acre for each year bond is in force for all other areas. Can be paid in annual increments	None	None	Yes	62 Ill Adm Code 1777.17

## **INDIANA**

Permit Application Fee	Acreage Fee	Annual Fee	Renewal Fee	Revision Fee	Do Fees Cover Actual Processing Time	Statute or Regulation Cite
None	None	N/A	None	None	\$0.055 per ton of mined coal paid by all permittees to cover the state share of program costs	IC 13-4.1-3-

## **KENTUCKY**

Permit Application Fee	Acreage Fee	Annual Fee	Renewal Fee	Revision Fee	Do Fees Cover Actual Processing Time	Statute or Regulation Cite
\$25.00 per year;	Bond, when required: \$100	See application	See permit	Under 10%	Yes	405 KAR 5:010 and

License fee: \$100 per year	- \$500 per acre/minimum bond; \$2000 land affected	and license fees	And license fees	change in total acres no fee. Over 10% change in total acres fee is same as permit fee	

### **MARYLAND**

Permit Application Fee	Acreage Fee	Annual Fee	Renewal Fee	Revision Fee	Do Fees Cover Actual Processing Time	Statute or Regulation Cite
See acreage fee	\$12 per acre per year to a maximum of \$1000; \$30 per acre reclamation fee	See acreage fee	Same as application (acreage) fee. No reclamation fee	\$100 plus new acreage fee, if acreage is added	Yes	Annotated Code of Maryland, Natural Resources Article, Section 7- 6A-07.

## **MSSOURI**

Permit Application Fee	Acreage Fee	Annual Fee	Renewal Fee	Revision Fee	Do Fees Cover Actual Processing Time	Statute or Regulation Cite
\$100 per permit	\$100 per acre. Fees are on all acreage permitted, not necessarily bonded; Fees are due when permit application is deemed complete	\$100 per permit	\$100 per permit	\$100 for major revisions; \$0 for minor revisions	No	444.820.1 RSMO Cum Supp 1990 (Surface Mining Law); 10 CSR 40- 6.010(6) - Rules

# OHIO

Permit	Acreage	Annual	Renewal	Revision	Do Fees	Statute or
Application	Fee	Fee	Fee	Fee	Cover	Regulation Cite
Fee					Actual	
					Processing	
					Time	
None	\$75 per	N/A	None	None	Yes	1513.07(B)(1)
	acre.					

## **PENNSYLVANIA**

Permit Application Fee	Acreage Fee	Annual Fee	Renewal Fee	Revision Fee	Do Fees Cover Actual Processing Time	Statute or Regulation Cite
\$250 per application for surface coal mines, underground mines and coal preparation plants; \$500 per application for coal refuse disposal operations plus \$10 per acre for acreage in excess of 50 acres	\$50 per acre reclamation fee for new surface coal mines	N/A	\$250 per application	None	No	25 Pa Code Section 86.17

### **VIRGINIA**

Permit Application Fee	Acreage Fee	Annual Fee	Renewal Fee	Revision Fee	Do Fees Cover Actual Processing Time	Statute or Regulation cite
None.	\$12 per	\$6 per acre or	See	Acreage	No	45.1-235 E

acre or any	any fraction	annual	fee applies	of Virginia
fraction	thereof for	fee	if revision	Coal Surface
thereof for	areas		is to add	Mining
the total	disturbed		additional	Control and
acreage	under the		acreage	Reclamation
permitted	permit. Paid			Act of 1979;
	on the permit			VA.CSMRR
	anniversary			480-03-
				19.777.17
				Permit fees
				l l

#### **WEST VIRGINIA**

Permit Application Fee	Acreage Fee	Annual Fee	Renewal Fee	Revision Fee	Do Fees Cover Actual Processing Time	Statute or Regulation cite
\$1000	\$1000 to \$5000 site specific bond per acre or fraction thereof	N/A	\$2000	None	No	New Permit: 22A-3-8(f); Renewal: 22A- 3- 19(a)(4)

#### **ATTACHMENTS**

- A. TABLE OF FEES
- B. COALEX State COMPARISON REPORT 147
- C. COMPARISON OF MINING PERMIT FEES FOR FIVE WESTERN States, compiled January, 1990.
- D. COMPARISON OF MINING PERMIT/REGULATORY FEES IN WESTERN States, compiled by Mark Moxley, Wyoming DEQ-LQD, December, 1991.

#### **TABLES OF FEES**

#### **ALABAMA**

Permit	Acreage	Renewal/	Revision	<b>Cover Time</b>
Fees	Fees	<b>Annual Fees</b>	Fees	
\$2500 +	\$25 per bonded	\$500 + \$25	\$100 - Transfer fee; \$250 - Revise:	Yes
acre fee	acre per	per bonded	small acreage; \$750 - Revise:	
	application	acre	reclamation plans; \$1500 - Revise:	
			major	

## **ARKANSAS**

Permit	Acreage	Renewal/	Revision	Cover
Fees	Fees	Annual Fees	Fees	Time
\$500 (\$250 for	\$500 or \$30	*These fees are	None - Though intended	No
review + \$250 for	per acre	paid on the	to cover processing	
admin. &	affected*	anniversary of	time, fees do not cover	
enforcement)		permit;	actual man-hours	
		No renewal fee		

## **ILLINOIS**

Permit	Acreage	Renewal/	Revision	Cover
Fees	Fees	Annual Fees	Fees	Time
See acreage	\$125 per bonded	\$5 per acre each year	None	Yes
fees	acre	bond in force;		
		No renewal fee		

## **INDIANA**

Permit	Acreage	Renewal/Annual	Revision	Cover
Fees	Fees	Fees	Fees	Time
None	None	None	None	\$.055 per ton - Per ton
				fee of mined coal is
				intended to cover state's
				share of program costs.

### **KENTUCKY**

Permit	Acreage	Renewal/Annual	Revision	Cover
Fees	Fees	Fees	Fees	Time
\$25 + \$100	\$100 - \$500 per	See permit fees	Under 10% acre change	Yes
license per	acre/min.; \$2000		= no fee; over 10%	
year	land affected		same as permit fees	

### **MARYLAND**

Permit	Acreage	Renewal/Annual	Revision	Cover
Fees	Fees	Fees	Fees	Time
See	\$12 per acre per year	Annual and renew fees	\$100 + new acre	Yes
acreage	to max. of \$1000; \$30	are same as acreage fees;	fee if acreage	
fees	per acre reclaim. fee	No reclaim. fee	added	

### **MISSOURI**

Permit	Acreage Fees	Renewal/Annual	Revision Fees	<b>Cover Time</b>
Fees		Fees		
\$100 per	\$100 per acre	\$100 per permit: annual	\$100 - Fee is for major	No
permit	permitted, not	and renewal fees	revisions. There is no fee	
	bonded		for minor revisions.	

## OHIO

Permit Fees	Acreage Fees	Renewal/Annual Fees	Revision Fees	Cover Time
None	\$75 per acre	None	None	Yes

### **PENNSYLVANIA**

Permit Fees	Acreage	Renewal/Annual	Revision	Cover
	Fees	Fees	Fees	Time
\$250 per application - Fee for surface coal mines, underground mines and coal preparation plants. Application fee for coal refuse disposal operations = \$500 + \$10 per acre for acreage in excess of 50 acres.	\$50 per acre reclaim. fee for new mines.	\$250 to renew	None	No

# **VIRGINIA**

Permit	Acreage Fees	Renewal/Annual	<b>Revision Fees</b>	Cover Time
Fees		Fees		
None	\$12 per acre permitted	\$6 per acre on permit anniversary	Acreage fee applies if revision adds acreage	No

# **WEST VIRGINIA**

Permit	Acreage	Renewal/Annual	Revision	Cover
Fees	Fees	Fees	Fees	Time
\$1000	Bond: \$1,000 - \$5,000 per acre or fraction	\$2000 to renew	None	No