OFFICE of SURFACE MINING
RECLAMATION and ENFORCEMENT

U.S. Department of the Interior

Share Button
Graphic of trees and lake scenery.
A
A
A

Safety and Health

Safety Officers

The following table provides a listing of Office of Surface Mining safety officers at each location throughout the country. These safety officers are familiar with safety and health standards, regulations, and policies, and in addition to their regular duties, spend up to 15 percent of their work time ensuring a safe and healthy work place for all employees. (See the Collateral Duty Safety Officer Supervisor Appointment Agreement for specific responsibilities.

Designated Agency Safety and Health Official Sean Strate, (202) 208-2575, sstrate@osmre.gov

Safety and Occupational Health Manager J. Maurice Banks (202) 208-2608, jbanks@osmre.gov

LOCATION NAME ADDRESS TELEPHONE EMAIL
HEADQUARTERS
Washington, DC Maurice Banks Office of Surface Mining
South Interior Building 1951 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC
(202) 208-2608 jbanks@osmre.gov
Denver, Colorado Ruth Anne Overfelt Denver Finance Center
Room B 2125-Building 20
Denver Federal Center
Denver, CO 80202
(303) 236-0330 ext. 282 ranneoverfelt@osmre.gov
Appalachian Region
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Joie Rupinsky Appalachian Region
Three Parkway Center
Pittsburgh, PA 15220
(412) 937-2815 jrupinsky@osmre.gov
Big Stone Gap, Virginia Tom Haywood Knoxville Field Office 530 Gay Street, Suite 500 Knoxville, TN 37902 (865) 545-4103 thaywood@osmre.gov
Charleston, West Virginia Laura A. Isom Charleston Field Office 1027 Virginia Street East Charleston, WV 25301 (304) 255-5265 lisom@osmre.gov
Knoxville, Tennessee Tom Haywood Knoxville Field Office 530 Gay Street, Suite 500 Knoxville, TN 37902 (865) 545-4103 thaywood@osmre.gov
Lexington, Kentucky Loren Estes 2675 Regency Road Lexington, KY 40503 (859) 260-3902 lestes@osmre.gov
Mid-Continent Region
Alton, Illinois Nicholas Grant Mid-Continent Region
Alton Federal Building 501 Belle Street, Room 216 Alton, IL 62002
(618) 463-6463 ext. 5148 ngrant@osmre.gov
Birmingham, Alabama Wendy Hudson-Chaney Birmingham Field Office
Barber Business Park 135 Gemini Circle, Suite 215 Homewood, AL 35209
(205) 290-7282 ext. 1000 wchaney@osmre.gov
Tulsa, Oklahoma Linda Thompson Tulsa Field Office 5100 East Skelly Drive, Suite 550 Tulsa, OK 74135 (918) 581-6431 ext. 26 lthompso@osmre.gov
Western Region
Denver, Colorado Charles Benavides Western Region
1999 Broadway, Suite 3320, Denver, CO 80202
(303) 293-5062 mbenavides@osmre.gov
Casper, Wyoming Debbie, Giovetti Casper Field Office
100 East Street
Federal Building Room 2128 Casper, WY 82601
(307) 261-6555 ext. 236 dgiovet@osmre.gov

Page Last Modified/Reviewed: 2/28/14

Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement, 1951 Constitution Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20240
(202) 208-2565 | TTY: (202) 208-2694 | Email: osm-getinfo@osmre.gov

Accessibility | Disclaimer | FOIA | No Fear | Notices | Privacy | DOI | USA.gov