OFFICE of SURFACE MINING
RECLAMATION and ENFORCEMENT

U.S. Department of the Interior

Graphic of trees and lake scenery.

For More Information:

Mychal Yellowman
Chief
Indian Programs Branch
myellowman@osmre.gov
(303) 236-2928


Contact OSMRE

A
A
A

Tribal Consultation

The Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of 1977 (SMCRA) created the Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement (OSMRE) in the Department of the Interior. Section 710 of SMCRA provides authority to OSMRE to regulate coal mining and reclamation operations on Indian Lands. Indian Lands mean all lands, including mineral interests, within the exterior boundaries of any Federal Indian reservation, notwithstanding the issuance of any patent, and including rights-of-way and all lands including mineral interests held in trust for or supervised by an Indian tribe.

OSMRE is the regulatory authority on all coal operations located on the Crow, Hopi, Navajo and Ute Mountain Ute reservations and all lands supervised by those tribes including lands recently defined as Indian lands in the state of Oklahoma.

OSMRE is responsible for establishing a nationwide program to protect society and the environment from the adverse effects of surface coal mining operations, under which OSMRE is charged with balancing the nation’s need for continued domestic coal production with protection of the environment.

OSMRE must ensure that bureau actions identify, conserve, and protect lands and other resources that the Department holds in trust for federally recognized Indian tribes and tribal members. In fulfilling these responsibilities, OSMRE must consult with Indian tribes on a government-to-government basis.

Tribal Liaison Officers

AREA COVERED NAME TELEPHONE EMAIL
MD, MA, MI, OH, PA, RI, WV, KY, GA, NC, TN, Virginia
Headquarters and Interior Regions 1 & 2 Stephanie Hamlet (202) 208-2802 shamlet@osmre.gov
(IL, IN, IA, MS, AL, LA, MS, AR, KS, OK, TX
Interior Regions 3, 4, & 6 Allison Travers (618) 463-6463 x-5103 atravers@osmre.gov
Interior Regions 3, 4, & 6 Joe Maki (918) 581-6431 x-230 jmaki@osmre.gov
AK, CA, CO, NM, OR, UT, WA, ID, MT, ND, SD, WY, Crow Tribe, Northern Cheyenne Tribe, Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe
Interior Regions 5, & 7-11 Jeff Fleischman (307) 261-6550 jfleischman@osmre.gov
Interior Regions 5, & 7-11 Mychal Yellowman (303) 236-2928 myellowman@osmre.gov

Upcoming Tribal Consultations

Upcoming Tribal Consultations


OSMRE is not hosting Tribal consultations at this time; however, when there is an upcoming consultation, this page will be updated appropriately to include dates and additional resources.

Resources

  • Annual Tribal Consultation Reports

  • OSMRE's Tribal Consultation Policies

DOI’s Tribal Consultation page: https://www.doi.gov/priorities/tribal-consultation/

Page Last Modified/Reviewed: 11/1/2021

Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement, 1849 C Street NW, Washington, DC 20240
(202) 208-2565 | TTY: (202) 208-2694 | Email: getinfo@osmre.gov


Accessibility | Disclaimer | FOIA | No Fear | Notices | Privacy | DOI | USA.gov