Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Offices and Organization

Headquarters and Regional Offices

The Director is OSMRE’s chief executive. The Director provides the leadership and direction of OSMRE activities within the limits delegated under Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act. The Director’s primary objectives are to aggressively pursue the reclamation of abandoned mine lands and to prevent environmental problems in the coalfields by working with state agencies. OSMRE makes every effort to obtain full public involvement in the design and development of agency policy.

OSMRE continues outreach efforts that promote public participation in policymaking. Such participation includes public meetings on proposed rule-making, and conferences, that promote discussion and exchange of information on the state of the coal industry and OSMRE’s evolving role. OSMRE continues to take steps to contact states, tribes, citizens, and industry and encourage their participation in the policymaking process.

In addition to guiding policy decisions, the Director provides direct supervision to the following offices: Office of Equal Opportunity, Office of Communications, Office of Planning, Analysis and Budget, and the Office of the Chief Information Officer.

Finance and Acquisition 

  • Division of Financial Management 
  • Division of Compliance Management 
  • Division of Acquisition Management 

Program Support 

  • Division of Reclamation Support 
  • Division of Regulatory Support 
  • Division of Technical Training 

  • Office of Administration 
  • Office of Communications
  • Office for Equal Opportunity 
  • Office of Human Resources 
  • Information Resources Office 
  • Office of Planning, Analysis and Budget 

Thomas Shope, Regional Director
Ben Owens, Deputy Regional Director

Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia

Regional Office
Three Parkway Center
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15220

(412) 937-2828

Field Offices

Charleston Field Office 
1027 Virginia Street E
Charleston, WV 25301


Lexington Field Office 
2675 Regency Road
Lexington, KY 40503


Area Offices

Beckley Area Office
313 Harper Park Dr.
Beckley, WV 25801


Harrisburg Area Office
215 Limekiln Rd.
New Cumberland, PA 1707


Knoxville Area Office 
710 Locust Street, 2nd Floor
Knoxville, TN 37902


London Area Office
421 West Highway 80
PO Box 1040
London, KY 40741


Morgantown Area Office
604 Cheat Road #150
Morgantown, WV 26508


Wise Area Office
706 Spring Ave
Wise, VA 24293

Bill Joseph, Regional Director

Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, Texas

Mid-continent Region Fact Sheet

Regional Office
William L. Beatty Federal Building 
501 Belle Street #216
Alton, Illinois 62002

(618) 463-6460

Field Offices 

Birmingham Field Office
Barber Business Park
135 Gemini Circle #215
Homewood, AL 35209


Tulsa Field Office
1 West Third, Suite 1600
Mailbox #43
Tulsa, OK 74103-3521
(918) 581-6430

David Berry, Regional Director

Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Crow Tribe, Hopi Tribe, Idaho, Montana, Navajo Nation, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Ute Mountain Ute Tribe, Washington, Wyoming

Western Region Fact Sheet

Regional Office
PO Box 25065
One Denver Federal Center #41
Lakewood, Colorado 80225
(303) 293-5000

Area Office

Casper Area Office
100 East B Street
Room 4100
Casper, WY 82601

(301) 261-6550